Soothing classical piano music for the heart and soul. All proceeds from this album go to the Cure Alzheimer’s Fund.

From the Liner Notes: My mother, Ruth Vantine, lived with Alzheimer’s for over ten years during the last part of her life. It was challenging to watch such a talented artist, witty poet and sensitive musician gradually lose the ability to enjoy all of these gifts. Yet through it all she maintained her pleasant and loving demeanor, even towards the end when she no longer remembered those closest to her. She still loved us and “shined like the stars!” When I thought of doing a project like this, I wanted it to be something that she would have enjoyed listening to. She was always supportive of my musical forays (one of my biggest fans ever!), but she certainly had a particular love for classical piano music. Thus, here we are. Most of these are favorite selections of hers. I particularly want to note the final track, which contains melodies and some harmonic structures that my mother wrote herself! I came across it one day long ago and composed a complete piece using her ideas. Originally it was written in two movements with orchestral accompaniment. But for purposes here, it flowed better to present it as a condensed solo piano version. I think she would have enjoyed this version. Don’t let time slip away without letting your mother, father, siblings, spouse, children – all who are near and dear to you – know how much they mean to you; how much you love them and appreciate how they have helped make you a better person. Blessings…


1     Reverie (Debussy) – 5:10
2     Andante (Gluck) – 1:56
3     Prelude in C Major (Bach) – 1:51
4     Gymnopedie, No. 1 (Satie) – 3:01
5     Prelude (Ravel) – 1:39
6     Nocturne in Eb, Op. 9, No. 2 (Chopin) – 4:37
7     Prelude, Op. 9, No. 11 (Scriabin) – 1:52
8     Intermezzo, Op. 118, No. 2 (Brahms) – 4:50
9     To a Wild Rose (MacDowell) – 2:15
10   Grande Sonata Pathetique, Op. 13, Mvt. 2 (Beethoven) – 4:23
11   Suite No. 1, Mvt. 4 (Scarlatti) – 2:52
12   Traumerai, Op. 15, No. 7 (Schumann) – 2:52
13   Largo from “New World Symphony” (Dvorak) – 4:35
14   Portrait (R. Vantine / P. Vantine) – 3:26